New Zealand consists of two main islands (North Island and South Island) and many smaller ones in the South Pacific, about 1,600 km (1,000 mi) south east of Australia. New Zealand is a land of jagged mountains, rolling pastures, pristine trout-filled lakes, raging rivers, scenic beaches and active volcanoes. The native kea bird likes to eat the strips of rubber around car windows. new_zealand